Little masterpieces

A couple weeks ago I did a post about some of my favorite pieces of art, but I left out the kids. Today I want to share with you some of my favorite art pieces for the little ones. I think it’s really important to expose kids to art as early and as much as possible to encourage their creativity and inspire them. It’s also for you, too; you spend a ton of time in your kid’s room when they’re little so it should be aesthetically pleasing to you as well. And while I love the idea of framing the art that children themselves create, my kids’ art looks like crayon vomit right now, so for the time being I’ll leave the art to the pros. (And how many of you have had the above scene in your house? It’s a fun one.)

I’m such a sucker for French phrases. I took 5 years of French in school, and I remember squat. But even though I can’t speak it for crap, I still think it is so beautiful. My daughter is becoming a bit of a francophile due to one of her favorite books and is anxiously awaiting her first trip to Paris. This might hold her over until then.

They may be smearing poo on the walls, licking the public bathroom floor and throwing their scrambled eggs at your head, but at the end of the day aren’t your little guys your best works of art?

Every night at bedtime I say to my daughter “do you know how much I love you?” And she replies, “to the moon and back.” And then I say “and so, so , so much more.” And then I take a shower to get the scrambled eggs out of my hair. That have been there since breakfast. Don’t judge.

How sweet is this “Mademoiselle under the rain” print? The answer is really freaking sweet.

Isn’t this photography dreamy? What kid doesn’t want to dream about going to the carnival?

These are my absolute favorites; they’re from kiki and polly. I have 3 prints of theirs in my son and daughter’s room and I love them more now then when I first got them. When I was pregnant with my first child, we didn’t know the sex of the baby so decorated the nursery in a neutral palette, and these little gems fit in just right. They’re just precious.

Great prints from Super Rural. I have an odd love of ampersands, and the heart just makes this one awesome. It’s becoming obvious to me I also have a thing for typography for kids. Interesting.

Ok, I’m a little obsessed with these fairy tale prints from Land of Nod. My daughter is just starting to get into fairy tales, and my trigger finger is all ready to purchase one of these. Just waiting for the signal….

I love maps used as art, both in adult spaces and ones for children. They’re especially great for kids because they can also learn from it. Maps are cool. Who knew?

For all you chemistry nerds out there, I give you the periodic table banner! You go on and pass that awesome nerdiness down to your kids. You know who you are. They’ll thank you some day when they have 5 people arguing over who gets their coffee.

So go clean the poo off those walls and put something pretty up.

Leave a Reply

