Home sweet home

DSC_0267

A house is defined as “A building for human habitation, esp. one that is lived in by a family or small group of people.” But a house is just a house. It’s made of bricks, wood, and cement. What transforms that house into a home is what’s inside. What the people who live there bring to it. The things that show who they are, where they’ve been, what makes them happy, and what they love. Those are the things that make a house a home. I like to walk into someone’s home and immediately get a feel for who they are. By the pictures of their family and friends on display. By the objects collected from the wonderful places they’ve been. By the art that inspires them on the walls. Those are the homes that truly inspire me. But I think the home that should inspire you the most is your own. Do you look around your home at the things you’ve placed there and feel content? Like it represents you? I most definitely do. Our home is rather modest; we’re not winning the most square footage award anytime soon, but I love where we live. It is our home. When I walk in the front door, I am comforted by all that I see. It represents who my family is and it is filled with things that we love. Whether it’s art that my daughter brought home from preschool or a chair that I covet or my favorite flowers, I love everything that’s here.

Over the last few days, I took a bunch of pictures of my favorite things in my home. These are the things that I love to look at. They make me happy. They are the things that make my house a home. Come on in…..DSC_0513

DSC_0565

DSC_0545

DSC_0316

DSC_0315

DSC_0310

DSC_0323

DSC_0303

DSC_0287

DSC_0659

DSC_0357

DSC_0554

DSC_0628

DSC_0592

DSC_0649

DSC_0506

DSC_0657

DSC_0493

DSC_0409

DSC_0466

DSC_0402

DSC_0420

DSC_0410

And while I love all these things-particularly my kids’ room and my black bathroom, it would all mean nothing without:

DSC_0576

Family. Because that’s what really makes a house a home.

4 thoughts on “Home sweet home

Leave a Reply

