A perfect day

DSC_0398

If you had asked me five years ago what my idea of a perfect April day would have been, I would have said sleeping until noon, having a great brunch with my husband (with booze, duh), strolling around NYC, maybe a drink or two outside, followed by dinner at a great Thai restaurant and maybe a movie. Just thinking about that makes me smile. And if you ask me now? I’d say a perfect day is when there’s no major incident involving feces or vomit, no temper tantrums from my kids that involves biting or throwing sharp objects at my head, and getting a block of sleep that lasts at least 4 hours before someone wakes up yelling “MOMMYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!” My standards have clearly changed just a bit. But when a day like today comes along- when I get to see some of my favorite people, walk around the city AND not get puked on? That’s so perfect, there needs to be a new word for perfect. Our cousins from London are in town (one of whom you’ll be hearing from on here very soon) and when they are here, we all get really excited. So today I took my kids into NYC to meet up with them at Chelsea Market. It’s an incredible indoor marketplace with amazing shops and restaurants, and the feel and look of the place is just so damn cool. It’s industrial at its best, but with a homey/historical thing going on. I love just walking around and taking it all in. After some soup, smearing cupcake frosting all over my kids’ faces and much needed coffee, we all had a walk on the High Line, which is the coolest park on the planet. Since we were all freezing our asses off and I could almost see the snot freeze on my kids’ little faces, the walk was brief, but lovely nonetheless. Here’s a look at my perfect (and vomit-less) day. First stop, Chelsea Market.

DSC_0408

DSC_0456DSC_0351

DSC_0261

DSC_0292

DSC_0434

DSC_0376DSC_0216

DSC_0430

DSC_0455

DSC_0334

DSC_0278

DSC_0244

DSC_0367

DSC_0319

DSC_0179

DSC_0298

DSC_0344

DSC_0379

And then, with dry diapers and full bellies, we braved the cold for a walk on the High Line.

DSC_0555

DSC_0543

DSC_0505

DSC_0494

DSC_0563

DSC_0496

DSC_0572

I don’t know about you, but to me anything with Diane von Furstenberg’s name on it is the coolest thing ever. So that was our perfect day. Tomorrow may bring diarrhea and an ER visit, but at least I’ll always have today.

Leave a Reply

