shared spaces

When my husband and I moved into our 2-bedroom townhouse, I was 7 months pregnant with our daughter. Plenty of room, we thought. Wrong. 4 months after my daughter was born, we found out I was pregnant again. (Oops.) One of the gazillion things I was freaking out about was space-how were we going to fit two babies into one bedroom? I had set up the nursery just how I wanted it-and then had to rearrange the whole thing. Seeing as how I had been in hormonal overdrive for almost 2 years at that point, that was enough to put me in full-on breakdown mode. Funny thing is, I liked it better with all the new baby’s things in there. Go figure. So it’s got me thinking about shared spaces. It can be tricky-especially when the kids sharing the space are not the same gender. How do you please them both? Surely they have different favorite colors/animals/characters/everything. I always love seeing how other people tackle this situation. Here are some of my favorites:

Aren’t these gorgeous? My son and daughter will be sharing a space for a little longer, and I have to say I’m so glad-because the conversations that I hear them having over the baby monitor at night are nothing short of hysterical. (Something like: “Brody, which fairy is your favorite?” “NO!! I like TRex!!” “Oh, so you like Silvermist?” “Triceratops has three horns. I tooted.”) I also know they’ll miss each other when they’re separated. Me too.

Images from my Pinterest

8 thoughts on “shared spaces

  1. I have a feeling i felt just like you did when I found out I was pregnant with Joel and Daniel was only 5 months! eeks! I should send you a picture of their shared bedroom (and they, too, will share a bedroom for some time). Their current room is 7ft x 10ft (city living!). But I´ve managed to make the most of it. Pictures to follow. Love you blog!!!!

    • My reaction was “holy. effing. shitballs.” I would love to see the boys room! Kids rooms are my favorite rooms and I’m sure yours is great. And thank you!!

Leave a Reply

