welcome, summer

So we have arrived at Memorial Day weekend, the unofficial beginning of the summer season. The weather here in New Jersey is looking pretty dismal, and although we won’t be able to hit the beach or pool, we still paln on going down the shore (that’s NJ speak for beach) to walk on the boardwalk, eat some really bad food (think pizza, ice cream and fried dough) and go on some rides. I’m really looking forward to it, and I just know my kids are going to have a blast.

With summer right around the corner, I put together a few beach essentials for both you and your kids. If you live in the northeast, you might not be able to put any of them to immediate use, but before you know it, your facebook news feed will be filled with people complaining about how hot it is. (the weather complainers bug me…)

First, for the ladies:

for you

Topshop high waisted bikini / Topshop underwire bikini / Topshop / Madewell sandals / J.Crew j crew tote bag / Pendant jewelry / Multi strand necklace / J.Crew palm leaf straw hat / Ava Tortie Shades / Fouta Beach Towel Midnight / drugstore.com

These a few of my favorite things for summer. I know I went on and on about one piece bathing suits, but then I came across this high-waisted bikini. It covers up my tummy funky bits and is really very flattering. It also comes in pink and red. The tan towels are a must for me in the warmer months, as my pasty ass burns after being in the sun for 15 minutes, so I bathe in SPF 5000. But I don’t like to look like Casper the ghost either, and Tan Towels give me the perfect glow. Also pictured are my latest sunnies from Anthropologie-I’m obsessed with them. And I looooove Turkish towels for the beach. They are incredibly cozy and chic at the same time. The cover up and necklaces allow you to go from the beach out to a restaurant, and the sandals, hat and bag are my summer staples.

And now, for the kiddos:

for them

Dripstik Ice Cream and Popsicle Holder Various Colors, Red / Old Navy Hibiscus Print Swim Trunks For Baby / Old Navy Reversible Canvas Sun Hats For Baby / Pink/Green Butterfly Beach Towel / Old Navy Sueded Cork Sandals For Baby / Gap Scalloped Trim Straw Hat / Lobster Beach Towel / Gap Piped Two Piece / Gap Embellished Flower Jelly Sandals / Jason Mineral Natural Sunblock SPF 30, 4 Ounce

Since becoming pregnant, I’ve really tried to switch over a lot of our health products to organic/natural/a little less full of chemicals and crap. An easy switch out was sunscreen. Most of them are loaded with a zillion chemicals. I like the Jason line quite a bit. Chemical-free sunscreens tend to be a bit thick, but worth it. And I must mention my favorite thing here-it’s those funny looking things in the middle. They’re called Dripstiks. I noticed a family at the beach last summer using these, and had to approach the mother and ask about them. They’re ice cream/popsicle holders. One side holds a popsicle stick and the other a cone-and all the drippage goes into the dripstik and not all over your little one’s hands. It’s just brilliant. Do yourself a favor and go pick some up. Like now. And of course a couple cute little bathing suits, sun hats, sandals  and PBK beach towels. My daughter insisted on getting a new “pikini” this summer, so of course I obliged.

So there you have it. I hope you all have a very happy and safe Memorial Day weekend. Enjoy every last minute!!

Leave a Reply

