signs of summer

There’s just something in the air when summer is near. The days are longer, the weather is warm, and people are just…..happy. It’s a pretty glorious time. And there some things that happen every year that let you know that days at the beach, outdoor barbecues and endless warm nights are right around the corner. Things like graduation (my daughter just had hers from preschool), pool openings, hopscotch with sidewalk chalk, that beautiful light just before sunset, flowers and having drinks outside on a balmy night are just a few telltale signs of better days to come. Here’s just a little of what has made me happy about the thought of summer:

DSC_0371

Preschool diploma. She’s kind of a big deal.

DSC_0447

Long days at the pool.

DSC_0443

There’s nothing like the last light of the day.

DSC_0428

This is the summer my daughter will become obsessed with hopscotch.

DSC_0495

Each year, mid-June, these beautiful flowers bloom. I have no idea what I planted (I kind of threw a bunch of crap in some soil and crossed my fingers), but I look forward to it every year.

DSC_0502

Ahhhhhhhh……. This needs no description.

Have a wonderful weekend and I hope you take advantage of as many early summer moments as you can.

2 thoughts on “signs of summer

  1. You are hysterical! I feel like I’ve literally commented on everything you’ve written, so sorry for the overload. But seriously “I kind of threw a bunch of crap in some soil and crossed my fingers” i LOVE it! I’ve read a lot of cool blogs, but not a lot of funny ones. 😉

Leave a Reply

