summer beauty

I find that from June until September, I am often a hot mess. (No pun intended.) Despite my best efforts to pretty myself up, it’s all undone within 5 minutes of being outside in the hot summer months. Humidity turns my unruly hair into a frizzy helmet, and the heat has my makeup dripping down to my knees. Have you ever left the house one way, only to look like a homeless crackhead when you get to where you’re going? Welcome to my life. So products for me are super important in the summer. I need anti-humidity, anti-frizz, anti-melting everything. You want to look natural in the summer-like you just rolled out of bed with your beachy hair and tan. Like it was effortless. There’s nothing like thick, cakey makeup and crazy eyeliner a la Amy Winehouse to go with your pretty little sundress. (But for me-“beachy” hair is the last thing I want. Like ever. Have you seen me on the beach? I’m scary.) So I thought I’d share just a few of my go-to summer beauty products. I go for easy and minimal when it’s sweltering out. And here’s what I’m reaching for right now:

29

Living Proof Satin Hair Serum: Styling Products | Sephora.

I have just starting using the Living Proof line after reading how well their anti-frizz products work. As someone who has tried every single product with the words “anti-frizz” on them, I was skeptical. But I gotta say, this stuff is awesome. It’s light, doesn’t weigh hair down, tames frizz and smoothes. And a very little goes a long way. I’m a fan of this stuff, for sure. Oh and even after a sweaty workout, my hair still looked pretty damn good.

7.19

Revlon Moon Drops – Creme Lipstick, Orange Flip 710 | drugstore.com.

I really love when I find a really good drugstore product. There’s only a few I swear by, and this is one of them. I saw Revlon’s Orange Flip on someone and immediately went out to CVS to buy it. It’s the perfect summer shade and it looks good on everyone I’ve seen it on. Some days, I wear no other makeup but this, and I still look put together. I love it. And it’s under $10!

rollerball 20

Marc Jacobs Daisy Rollerball: Rollerballs | Sephora.

Oh, how I love Marc Jacobs. I’ve mentioned how it’s my signature scent. And this MJ Daisy rollerball is my signature travel scent. It’s so small and compact, you can just throw it in your purse or makeup bag. It’s light, fresh and feminine and perfect for summer. It’s my scent whenever I travel. Another great thing about it? It’s $20.

16.83 for 10

Amazon.com: TanTowel Self-Tan Towelette Classic 10 PACK: Beauty.

Summer also marks the time when even more people think I’m my children’s nanny. They have this beautiful Asian skin that tans so beautifully (despite SPF 5,000), and I am the pasty chic who turns three shades of red, blisters and/or peels, and turns pasty again. Sigh. So I have to fake it. I have tried so many self-tanners and have been turned every shade of orange known to man (anyone who has known me for awhile can attest to this), so when I tried Tan Towels, I was thrilled. It gives a very light and subtle shade and really looks natural. It also doesn’t stink like so many self-tanners do. They’re like the moist towelettes you get after eating chicken wings. But waaaaaaay better. These are awesome; go buy them.

36

Laura Mercier Mineral Powder SPF 15: Foundation | Sephora.

Laura Mercier is some kind of genius. I have yet to try one of her products that I don’t love. But my favorite one, by far, has become her mineral powder. In the summer, I omit the primer and foundation and just use moisturizer and this. It has a very subtle shimmer and just a hint of color, and at the same time provides a little bit of coverage. I find it doesn’t settle into fine lines and has a really nice effect. It also has SPF 15. Perfect.

mia 119

Clarisonic Mia™ Skin Cleansing System: Professional Spa Tools | Sephora.

This one is my top beauty product of all-time and for every season. It’s the Clarisonic cleansing system. It is the best investment  you can make for your skin. It cleans so deep and thoroughly, yet feels so gentle-like giving yourself a facial. When I get lazy and don’t use it for a few days, I can see and feel the difference. If you don’t properly cleanse, it doesn’t really matter what you put on your face. And this is the best way to cleanse your face. I have the Mia model, which is smaller than the original. I can’t say enough about this.

So those are some of summer  must-haves. I would love to hear what yours are!

Leave a Reply

