Equestrian chic

I wish I could say that I’m writing about horses in art today becuase I spent my childhood in stables. Or that I had a beloved pony who was my very best friend, igniting a life-long love of horses. (Reminds me of the Seinfeld episode about having ponies when you’re a kid- “I had pony. My sister had pony. My brother had pony….. ” If you’re not a Seinfeld fan, I just lost you. Sorry.) But it’s just not the case. I do find them quite beautiful, however. Recently I’ve been seeing images of horses popping up all over the place. I knew it was a ‘thing’ when interiors featuring horses were all over blogs, design magazines, and Pinterest. “Equestrian chic” is big. And I like it. I love that where I’m seeing the horses is not where you’d expect-in country-style houses or barns. They’re  in modern spaces, and the combination is really great. A few weeks ago, a friend and I were walking around the design store Lilian August in NYC, and what I saw confirmed the horse trend. Here’s some (crappy iphone) shots of what I saw there:horse6horse4horse3horse5horse1horse2

I could have spent all day there; it was so very inspiring. Alas, dinner reservations beckoned. You can see more here: http://www.lillianaugust.com.

Here are some of my favorite interiors featuring horses:

horse arthorse arthorse arthorse arthorse arthorse art

Images from my Pinterest

Totally unexpected, right? The last thing you’d expect to see in a modern space is a big ol’ horse. But that’s why it works and what makes it so cool. And why I must have something like it immediately.

Leave a comment